Range Rover (P38A)

The Range Rover (P38A) is the second-generation Range Rover model from British car maker Land Rover. It was launched in 1994, 24 years after the introduction of the first-generation Range Rover. It included an updated version of the Rover V8 engine, with the option of a 2.5 litre BMW six-cylinder turbo-diesel. The new model offered more equipment and premium trims, positioning the vehicle above the Land Rover Discovery to face the increased competition in the SUV marketplace.
Land Rover
1994 – 2002
Solihull, United Kingdom
Range Rover “Classic”
Range Rover (L322)
Luxury large off-road 4x4
Body style
5-door SUV
Front engine/four-wheel drive
4.0 L Rover V8
4.6 L Rover V8
2.5 L BMW M51 Turbodiesel I6
4-speed automatic
5-speed manual
2,746 mm (108.1 in)
4,712 mm (185.5 in)
1,890 mm (74.4 in)
1,819 mm (71.6 in)



In 1999 the Range Rover V8 received a new Bosch engine management system from the BMW 7 Series. This replaced the Lucas GEMS system. The diesel edition received an EGR system, which came with a plastic inlet manifold. A modulator sends back part of the exhaust gas into the manifold, thus mixing hot exhaust gas via a vacuum pump into the cold air from the intercooler.


The second generation incorporated new engine management and improved electronic air suspension (called EAS) that allowed automatic, speed proportional height adjustment. This could also detect when the vehicle is not parked horizontally and attempt to raise itself to maximum height for horizontal leveling. The five suspension heights offered by EAS are (from lowest to highest in terms of height) "Loading," "Highway," "Standard," "Off-Road," and "Off-Road Extended." Height was also adjustable manually.


The R380 gearbox is basically the same as in the previous Range Rover, or Discovery 300tdi The primary shaft is different with a small input diameter for the spigot bearing inside the BMW flywheel and the output shaft has been changed to allow for the different Borg Warner Box. The automatic gearbox is the same ZF 4HP22, as is the Discovery TD5 or V8.
The Borg Warner transfer box no longer had direct control of High/Low range gears meaning that the vehicle has to nearly stop before shifting from high to low range and the lever from the Classic model has been replaced by an electric control on the dashboard for the manual and an H-pattern gate on the automatic gear lever. The transfer case's chain and sprockets have been reinforced. Differentials have in some models been upgraded to a four pinion version, notably in the V8 edition. Also, four-wheel traction control was added to the vehicle, which previously was rear wheel only.


The chassis was also made stronger and new welding techniques were used. This was the last Range Rover available with a manual gearbox and a classic transfer box. Other features included anti-lock braking system and in some automatic gearbox models two-wheel traction control — although later models saw this feature applied to all four wheels.

Back to Range Rover
Back to Land Rover
Last updated on 17 July 2013 at 00:09.


Back to Top